Anticipate 4th and 5th digit changes for ICD-10

Published: 26th October 2010
Views: N/A

CMS has pointed out that the need to change from ICD 9 to ICD 10 will be effective from October 1, 2013. When that takes place, you will have to get used to selecting codes with definitions that may differ from what you are used to.

Start researching and preparing a minimum of six months prior to implementation of ICD-10. There is a lot for most of us to learn as there are lots of differences; however the payoff will be much greater specificity. One step you can take as of now is to look at the ICD-10 2010 codes that apply to diagnoses you report most often. Remember whether they require different information than their ICD-9 counterparts, and share that information with providers so that they can get used to including that information in their documentation prior to the transition.

For instance: Here's a list of the ICD-10 2010 codes for Hodgkin's lymphoma:

  • C81.0

  • C81.1

  • C81.2

  • C81.3

  • C81.4

    Excludes1: Nodular lymphocyte predominant Hodgkin lymphoma (C81.0-)

  • C81.7

  • C81.9

    Even though ICD 10 as published presently lists all codes individually with the full description ( as opposed to the present ICD-9 tabular format), you can witness that like ICD-9, the ICD-10 2010 Hodgkin's codes call for a fifth character for each of the above classifications. The ICD-10 options are pretty similar to ICD-9 codes, except that that you'll have separate ICD-10 options for unspecified site (0) and extranodal and solid organ sites (9). In ICD-9, the two are lumped together under 0.

    Compare ICD 9 to ICD 10: There are various one-stop medical coding websites that offer educational materials that you can review; as such there's a lot of good quality yet free information available. Such a site also offers you an ICD-10 bridge to help you make a smooth transition from ICD 9 to ICD 10.

  • Report this article Ask About This Article

    More to Explore